Bob Sutton’s blog “work matters”

I agree with Mr. Sutton’s opinion regarding work matters. When I was a college student, I discovered the differences among students in each type of college.  For example, in the high level schools (ex. Harvard, Stanford, etc.), students assume they are more intelligent than students from other types of colleges, also assuming that they don’t need to study as hard. In addition, they perceive education pertaining to basic grammar and skills as a waste of time. However, the students from middle level schools (ex. UNR, CSU Sacramento, etc) study diligently as they do believe themselves to be as intelligent as the students from high level schools. They also want to study the basics of every discipline and begin working on basic job skills because they are unsure about what fields they can succeed in, but they believe if they work hard and remain persistent, it will work. How about the students in the low level schools (ex. TMCC and other community colleges)? Most of them keep thinking that they are not qualified to study; therefore, they spend their time on part-time employment where the salary is not that good.

To be honest, I never think I am really smart, but I also never think I am ignorant. I strive to pursue my education because I know I must work hard to be competitive. For example, while I study in the USA, I know I need to study harder than others, given that English is not my native language. Sometimes, I question my intelligence because of how hard I have to work, but now I think it may not be a negative thing because it is teaching me how to face new challenges.

Can personality be changed?

In this reading, I agree the author’s opinion; personality can be changed. Personality changes over the life span and changes by experience, and I think it also can be taught.

In my opinion, the environment is one of the factors that could change a person’s personality a lot. Before I came to the United States, I was not a confident or positive person, and I didn’t even attempt tasks that seemed too difficult. In addition, I didn’t like to ask people to help me out because it I feared others would view it as ignorant or that I have a disability. However, after I came to the United States, the culture shock and different social environment provided me with great adversity. At first, I became very negative, had no confidence, and didn’t even talk to others very often. It really was a tough time for me, and it changed my personality a lot because I know I have to survive in this environment. I try my best to think in positive way, be more confident, ask people to help me when I really need help, and also be more organized because I know in this environment  I cannot procrastinate when it comes to my work. Today, it has already been over one year since I came to the US, and I have realized some significant changes. I have become more outgoing, more confident, and more aggressive.

Personality will change by environment, time/experience, and I know that my personality will change after I get my master’s degree, get married, and or retire.

Effects of each preference in work situation

My MBIT test result is ESFP, extraverted types, sensing types, feeling types, and perceptive types. In this paper, I think the most prominent personalities are perceptive types and feeling types. Frankly, I do not connect well with these two types because I do not think those kinds of personality help me to be a successive leader. However, that is just my opinion. After reading the two prior articles, I know I can practice to be a more thinking and judging type of person. Besides, this analysis allowed me to locate my strengths and weaknesses, so I understand what to I should go for and what I should avoid.

