According to the author of this case, Jeffrey Pfeffer, in his blog, he mentions the principles of evidence-based management are:

  1. Face the hard facts, and build a culture in which people are encouraged to tell the truth, even if it is unpleasant.
  2. Be committed to “fact based” decision making — which means being committed to getting the best evidence and using it to guide actions.
  3. Treat your organization as an unfinished prototype — encourage experimentation and learning by doing.
  4. Look for the risks and drawbacks in what people recommend — even the best medicine has side effects.
  5. Avoid basing decisions on untested but strongly held beliefs, what you have done in the past, or on uncritical “benchmarking” of what winners do.

Everyday we can get tons of business information form news paper, business magazines, or business books; however, it has too many information to apply evidence based management.  To be a manager, how could we know which way that used by other company and became really successful we should choose and apply in our own organization? Will those successful cases also become really successful in my company if I use the same way? Is it appropriate for the airplane  company, United Airline, to use the way that Southwest used for? Is it appropriate for the other furniture companies to use the exactly same way that IKEA used for? I don’t think those will work.  Therefore, how could we apply evidence based management?

In my opinion, the most important thing that we should care is manager should not always make decision depend on their own experience. People learn form experience, but it also limit our creative thought and self- break-through. I think about  my MBIT test result, and I am a feeling type person, making decisions in a personal, value-oriented way. It’s true that I usually make decision by my experience. Take a stupid example, when I look for my next lover, I will think what personality or ability I like and dislike from my ex-boyfriend, and then decide who will be my next lover. It probably sounds really stupid, but I think many girls do that too, and it may  also the reason why two-thirds of all females are feeling type. I think that always making decisions by experience is really dangerous because not all of successful methods are appropriate to all decisions, such us United Airline and Southwest example. You can be successful this time by this method, but you may not be successful on next time because they have different situation. Besides, it also causes you to keep old thought and obstruct the growth of organization. You will think every creative ideas that your employee suggest are impracticable, and become very negative and always be against.

How could we keep reminding ourself stop treating old ideas? To be humility on your knowledge and acknowledging your limit knowledge will help you want to keep getting new knowledge. Learning how to make decision in a logical and objective way, and try to analyze decision, such as the Thinking type person.

