Changing Others Through Changing Ourselves

This case mentions about when we want to change others, we should change ourselves. There have many situations that we will want to change others; for example, change a child, change a student, change a unit, change a division, or change a corporation.

Actually I think about the economical environment in these few years. Most people complain about economic that cause them unemployment, and they don’t think they can change this situation but just let the time go through.  I think we cannot blame the economic for everything. Like the case says, changing others through changing ourselves. If we want to change environment, we should change our attitude, behavior, and vision. If we always think negative, we will not change result.

For example, I suffered some troubles with culture shock when I just came to the US, and at first I just want to shunned these problems and complained why I was so unlucky. In addition, I also complained why my family didn’t pay more attention and concerned about my situation more.  In that period, what I thought is only negative. However, I knew I have to change. I should be more proactive and positive. The environment  will not change for me, the only thing I can do is to learn it and get used to it. So, I have tried to learn American culture and language, and I also have kept myself positive although I got any setback. Besides, I tried to concern my family more first, talked with them frequently and let them understand my situation more, and I found they give the same concern to me. What I learned was don’t expect environment or people will change for you, and if you want to change situation, you should change yourselves first.

Organizational silence

This article let me recall a book, “Beyond Bullsh*t,” which I read in this semester. People keep silence because they don’t want to defense others, and they know most people fear to receive negative feedback. Like the book “Beyond Bullsh*t” says, people do not talk truth because they don’t believe others will also tell truth and can take the truth.

If an organization doesn’t talk truth or just talk about bullshit, it cannot improve or may waste time to get right direction. In the article, it mentions that organizational silence will cause:

  • Lack of variance in informational input.
  • Lack of critical analysis of ideas and alternatives.
  • Less effective organizational decision making.
  • Employees’ perceived lack of control.
  • Employees’ cognitive dissonance and getting more anxiety and stress.
  • Low internal motivation withdrawal turnover sabotage

Why people keep silence in their organization? When there has no trust relationship that is built in organization, people will keep silence rather than confront others.

It shock me when I saw the study result that shows only 29% of first-level supervisors thought that their organization encouraged employees to express opinions openly. Actually, organizational silence commonly happen in Asia. We don’t make our boss loss face, so in some situations we just keep silence and accept what our boss said.

Like the “Beyond Bullsh*t” says, having straight talk in an organization should build trust and teach people how to use appropriate communication by straight-talk. It’s also like the concept of servant leader, we have to believe our superiors will take care of us, and then we will do our best for them.

